Making a sidescroller

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Programming/Making a sidescroller

B_Paulie(Posted 2006) [#1]
Im new to programming, i've only been programming for 5 months. Can someone teach me how to make a sidescroller?

WolRon(Posted 2006) [#2]
Have you seen my 2D platformer example code at my programming tutorial?

QuickSilva(Posted 2006) [#3]
B_Paulie, sidescrollers are not the easiest of games to make, trust me. Maybe you should try making a single screen platformer first and then evolve it to a sidescroller once you`ve picked up the knowlegde to do so.

Jason.

CS_TBL(Posted 2006) [#4]
Learning to make decent programs takes years, learning to make complex games -like shooters- takes even more years..
.. not 5 months ..

sorry :P but you really mustn't rush things. Keep in mind also that your game needs editors (map-editors, enemy-placement-editors etc.). You gotta need that.. so you need to know at least how to work with maps, perhaps you're lucky and you could use a generic map-editor from somewhere, but if you're not lucky, you need to make your own.

Space Invaders would be a better start for beginners than Gradius VI ^_^

B_Paulie(Posted 2006) [#5]
thx all. i thought it would be much easier : )

Grey Alien(Posted 2006) [#6]