the main loop - does everyone do the same ?

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Programming/the main loop - does everyone do the same ?

Dax Trajero(Posted 2004) [#1]
I'm new to all this stuff so was wondering if I'm doing things correctly in my main loop

Function main_loop ()

While Not keyhit(1)

Update_Game_Timers()
Get_Player_input()
Check_Sprite_to_Screen_Collision()
Check_Sprite_to_Sprite_Collision()

WaitTimer(screentimer) ; timer runs at 60Hz
Draw_Screen()
Draw_Sprites()

Wend

End Function

As you can see from the above code I have a screentimer set at 60, so the screen is redrawn at 60Hz. Is this the best way to attain smooth graphics or am I using an incorrect method ?

Moore(Posted 2004) [#2]
Well I would say no, it does not utilize the full power of the computer, it limits frame rate try this:

say you want your gameObj to move across the screen at 100 pixels per second

speed = 100

newTime = Millisecs()
timeElapsed = newTime - OldTime
x = x + (speed/1000) * timeElapsed
oldTime = newTime

This allows the game to run at the optimal cycles while the gameObj moves at a constant rate. Whether you achieve 10 frames per sec or 200 the gameObj will always move at 100 pixels per sec.

morduun(Posted 2004) [#3]
I wouldn't use timers. Delta time's much more useful in the long run for frame timing -- tutorial on delta time here.

Dax Trajero(Posted 2004) [#4]
Thanks guys will definitely look into delta time

At the moment I want to get the main loop correct - just discovered vwait : flip false. Is it preferrable to use this?

What is happening during vwait : flip false ?

Dax Trajero(Posted 2004) [#5]
mordun, thanks for that Delta Time tutorial - certainly a more efficient way to run my code.

My question is this - regardless of whether I use delta time or Create Timer / Wait Timer methods...

...assuming my user has disabled the VSYNC on their video card, which means its best to not use VWAIT...