256 color palette

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Programming/256 color palette

Gun Ecstasy(Posted 2004) [#1]
For the past two hours, I've been trying to write an algorithm to make a 8-bit color palette. I have failed. Could someone write one for me? Or could someone give me a good image of an 8-bit palette?

I'm using panels and SetPanelColor(). This is the array of panels:

Dim hPalette(256)

And I need each one filled with a certain color. There are 32 rows and 8 columns. I'm not really good at mixing colors... and this is the best I could come up with:

For p=0 To 85
	SetPanelColor(hPalette(p),colr,colg,colb)
	colr=colr+3
Next
colr=0
For p=86 To 170
	colg=colg+3
Next
colg=0
For p=170 To 256
	colb=colb+3
Next

CS_TBL(Posted 2004) [#2]
you want a panel for each selectable color ????

10 goto "plan B" :)

CS_TBL(Posted 2004) [#3]
tadaa, an 8-bit palette in less then 18 minutes :)

I could add more features, like one to update the palette image with new colors, but that should be doable by you already .. if you really want clean routines, try to work with banks and make a fool-proof 'gadget' out of it, see the tutorials for that.

; small 8-bit palette, by CS_TBL
; Blitzplus

window=CreateWindow("palette",0,0,640,480)

; RGB values are stored in: paletteR(0..255),paletteG(0..255),paletteB(0..255)

Dim paletteR(255),paletteG(255),paletteB(255)
For t=0 To 239
	paletteR(t)=Rnd(0,255)
	paletteG(t)=Rnd(0,255)
	paletteB(t)=Rnd(0,255)
Next
For t=240 To 255
	paletteR(t)=i
	paletteG(t)=i
	paletteB(t)=i
	i=i+16
Next

; 256 squares, 16x16, each square is 16x16 in size:

Global palette=CreateCanvas(32,32,16*16,16*16,window)
Global currentcolor=255  ; currentcolor always has the current drawing color

; make an image of the palette ( see palettedraw() )
Global paletteIMG=CreateImage(16*16,16*16)

SetBuffer ImageBuffer(paletteIMG)
	t=0
	For y=0 To 15
		For x=0 To 15
			Color paletteR(t),paletteG(t),paletteB(t)
			Rect x*16,y*16,16,16,True
			t=t+1
		Next
	Next