quick poll - precalc sin & cos or perform every frame ?

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Programming/quick poll - precalc sin & cos or perform every frame ?

Dax Trajero(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hi, I'm new to all this programming business, and have a set of 4 sprites, each of which can move in any angle (eg. 0 deg, 11.25deg, 22.50deg, etc...)

Regardless of which method* I choose, I use

dx = cos(a)
dy = sin(a)

*My question is, is it best to precalc these values and put them in a data structure (array,etc...) so its less cpu itensive

or

Every frame, do I just do the COS & SIN calcs for each of the 4 sprites, and to hell with the cpu intensity ?

Thanks in advance,
-Dax

WillKoh(Posted 2004) [#2]
If they can move in a somewhat limited number of angles one could use an array with precalc.. i wouldn't have thought about using precalc for this until you brought it up.. would it be much faster? One could just make a prog to include each time that stores the cos and sin of say, every integer angle from 0-359... Unless blitz already uses a built-in table for that??

Rob Farley(Posted 2004) [#3]
I'd finish your game and see if you need the extra speed afterwards.

It's easy enough to create a couple of arrays afterwards.

Personally I always just use sin() and cos() I've not noticed any massive speed hit and I don't think it's really worth worrying about until you're getting to optimisation right at the end of your project.

It's a bit like worrying about floats and ints... I don't... I just use them as necessary.

PCs are so quick now I don't think it's worth spending too much time optimising unless you can get an extra 10 or 20%. To get an extra 3 cycles in 200 hardly seems worth the effort.

Beaker(Posted 2004) [#4]
Only time I've seen it being worth it is for demo's that don't really do much else apart from Sin/Cos and floating point number crunching.

Kevin_(Posted 2004) [#5]