Some Newb B+ Questions

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Programming/Some Newb B+ Questions

AndyBoy_UK(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hi everyone, sorry to be a pain today but Im just getting started out with Blitz+ (still teh demo for now till I can sort my email problem out - 26 runs left)

I would like to do a couple of things and I want to make sure I am going about them in teh right way.

Ok here goes.

1. I would like to make a splash screen as a seperate window that pops up while I am loading all sorts of rubbish in and then when it is all sorted I want to either hide this window (in case I need to bring it back for something) or destroy it. How could I go about this? (I tried HideGadget with the window handle but it didnt work, does Minimising just put to the taskbar)?

2. I gather I need a Canvas to put images on my windows, or is there some sort of Gadget that allows a static image?

3. I would like to create other windows in the background but not have them displayed (like tool boxes) and when a user toggles their appearance from the main window they appear. Is there a way I can do this?

4. Do all my gadgets have to be global? The CreateMenu suggests that menus do not need to be global but the gadget creation does.

I may have a couple more silly questions but I wont start a load of topics on them all, I will just post into this one.

Thanks everyone, sorry to be a pain.

CS_TBL(Posted 2004) [#2]
1 "FreeGadget MyWindow" wipes your flashscreen window

2 You could put an image on a panel, but rather stick to canvases..

3 do you mean 'create a window, but don't display it yet'? create it outside your screen, use hidegadget, use setgadgetshape to put it back where you want it, and use showgadget/hidegadget to show and hide it.

4 nope.. not perse.. some of my own functions are small apps, like this one: http://www.blitzbasic.co.nz/Community/posts.php?topic=29266

As you see, all stuff is local.

AndyBoy_UK(Posted 2004) [#3]