Looking for help from other programmers

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Beginners Area/Looking for help from other programmers

Nivlac(Posted 2010) [#1]
I have been a member since December 2005, trying to teach myself programming off and on. I have been reading and working with "Game Programming for Teens" second edition and "Programming for the Absolute Beginner" among others. I have no formal training, just the desire to learn to program my own games. I would like to create a memory matching game for my girls using BlitzPlus. I am not sure where or how to begin. I am looking for insight from other programmers. I have created 13 images, one for the back of the cards and 6 pairs of matching images. I would really appreciate some information or advice to get me going in the right direction as I am having trouble turning my ideas into source code. Thanks, Nivlac

lid(Posted 2010) [#2]
As a programmer you should really stop and ask yourself; what kind of program am i going to create here?

you should try using "command reference" to help you out ( say you didn't have any idea on how a command works there you can find out )

next i would recommend going here: http://membres.lycos.fr/blitzcoder/articles.shtml
( i learned to much here...to be honest i found this site from a user here called Hotshot2005 )

that should get you going :D

pardon my imperfect english

Sauer(Posted 2010) [#3]
Here is a good plan of attack for a matching game:

1) Take every image pair and assign it a number
2) Make a two dimensional array of rows and columns, and assign every "cell" a number. This will be your card layout.
3) Draw card's backside on the table, in rows and columns.
4) When the user clicks a card:
a) If it is the first guess, show the correct card using the information in the array corresponding to its row and col.