ChatterBox

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Beginners Area/ChatterBox

Yo! Wazzup?(Posted 2007) [#1]
I've decided to work on a small project but I'm new at programming and don't know exactly how.

I want this to be a small chatroom for 2 people and it might look like this to the user.

Global theirmessage$="Okay."
.start
message$=Input("")
Print "You: " + message
Delay 2000
Print "Other Person: " + theirmessage
Goto start

(message$ = "Let's Play!")

I would not like the line: Global theirmessage$="Okay.",
instead I would like it to be a message that the other person sent.

If you have questions or have some code I could use, please reply.

Type #765906 after everything in the browser url to go to the bottom of the page.

CS_TBL(Posted 2007) [#2]
If you're new: start at the very beginning. Starting at the beginning means starting with small and dumb programs, thousands of 'em, and if you're done: do another thousand of 'em.

A program to chat would not exactly look like that example code, in fact you can't even really imagine what it would look like, therefor you need to start at the beginning of the learning traject.

The first thing to get rid of is using gotos and labels. I assume you've come from QBasic or something? Blitz is more like C/Pascal using Basic-flavor.

I assume you're using B+ ? You might have to investigate some time reading about events. You might also actually do good by joining reading siopses' learning traject, that saves us from explaining the same things twice .. :P

Yo! Wazzup?(Posted 2007) [#3]
I use Blitz3D for programming, and started with Visual Basic. I can't even remember how to program in Visual Basic anymore.

I read:
Game Programming For Teens Second Edition by Maneesh Sethi
and 3D Game Programming For Teens By Eric D. Grebler.

CS_TBL(Posted 2007) [#4]