simple jump code anyone?

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Beginners Area/simple jump code anyone?

Ice T.(Posted 2006) [#1]
I need some simple basic jumping code or stratagies to go on, I am a big fan of the mario bros. side-veiw games and really want to make a simple one but I cant make them jump!

thanx

Andres(Posted 2006) [#2]
Gravity# = .7
YSpeed# = 0
Jump# = -3.0

While NOT KeyHit(1)
YSpeed# = YSpeed# + Gravity#

Ypos# = Ypos# + YSpeed#

if keyhit(57) then YSpeed# = Jump#
Wend

Ice T.(Posted 2006) [#3]
where did you learn to code like that and how long did it take to learn it?

Andres(Posted 2006) [#4]
I've been programming in blitz for 4 years or so.

Pineapple(Posted 2006) [#5]
I've also mailed you a copy of a Dizzy thingy... Should show how to do a few things!

Dabz

Ice T.(Posted 2006) [#6]
Iv been programming for about 2 years but just this last year I have really gotten into it, and Dabz, I tryed
to download the program but said its not a "valid archive"...?

Pineapple(Posted 2006) [#7]
mmmm, weird, I zipped it using windows own zippy thingy!?!

Try this:-

http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/mdplasteringservices/Dizzy.zip

Dabz

Andres(Posted 2006) [#8]
Dabz's code shows how a character jumps x frames up and then falls x frames, but the one i provided jumps by velocity so it's more realistic and smoother.

Pineapple(Posted 2006) [#9]
That example was based obviously on the Dizzy character, which needs to spin and land pretty much within the jump frames!

But, he has two sets of code to look at now, which use two different ways... Much better in my opinion! :D

Dabz

Ice T.(Posted 2006) [#10]
sorry, I dont now much about winzip exept to click on the Icons, could ya help me out? and I'v always wondered whats all that weird writing done on notepad, like yours thats labeled "thumbs"

robot(Posted 2006) [#11]
heres the way i learned to make people jump. This is psedo-code, so you'll haveta apply it to ur siduation
if(keyhit(jumpkey)and y=abletojump)
 yv=32
endif