sprite problem

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Beginners Area/sprite problem

Ice T.(Posted 2006) [#1]
Im a noob and I was wondering, say you have a guy
then when you press spacebar he swings a sword then goes back to looking the same way,how would you do that?

CS_TBL(Posted 2006) [#2]
Well, for a start, there isn't a command called 'SwingSword(player)'.. so everything like that has to be programmed yourself. And there are quite some ways ppl use to implement this.

First, draw all the possible animation phases of your character into a big image, all walking angles, and all the things the character does. (jumping, clibing, swordfighting, shooting, dying etc.) You load this with LoadAnimImage (see the help) and make sure each frame has one specific animation frame.

Then you create a timer for your character, and each timertick (I recommend using the eventsystem for this) changes the current animationframe, based on tables.

The only thing you need to do is creating these tables (a table for walking, a table for swordfighting etc.) after you press some key.. like, if space = swordfighting, then you must make sure the character-animator points to this swordfight table.

You could also create one big table with all the animations inside and work with ranges.

In any case, if you're a noob then rather learn decent programming first. It might be cool to start out with a game, but that's quite high-profile already if you're just starting out. The fact that Blitz is marketed as a gamelanguage is a bit misleadige perhaps. Sure, there are handy commands to do your gfx routines, but what it doesn't do is create the gamelogic for you.

Ice T.(Posted 2006) [#3]
thanks CS_TBL, i was using separate images to do every thing

Ice T.(Posted 2006) [#4]
by the way,how would u use collisions with one big image?

thanks to who answers this

Andres(Posted 2006) [#5]