Screen Flashes Between Black and light grey?

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Beginners Area/Screen Flashes Between Black and light grey?

spoolboyy(Posted 2005) [#1]
hey guys,

im new to Blitzplus and programming! im in the process of writing my very first text-based programs that change the graphics resolution.

im having an issue where the screen will blink back and forth between a light grey background with white letters to a black background with white letters and its almost as if the black screen is off-center from the greyish one.

any ideas? thanks!

-adam

Grey Alien(Posted 2005) [#2]
post your code!

Blaine(Posted 2005) [#3]
Make sure that you use "SetBuffer BackBuffer()" just before your main program loop.

Nicstt(Posted 2005) [#4]
are you using color r,g,b or clscolor r,g,b at all, seeing your code would be helpful.

spoolboyy(Posted 2005) [#5]
i believe i have a Buffer problem of some sort. I downloaded the latest version of BlitzPlus, (I was running v1.11). that got rid of the color changing aspect, now both backgrounds are black...

However...

Ive noticed that my code works in BlitzBasic, but not in BlitzPlus. Is this because Blitzbasic writes directly to the front buffer and that BlitzPlus writes to the back buffer?

What it boils down to is i cant seem to get the flips right....

as the program stands right now, its like ive got two different pages flipping, so i can only see every other line of text at any given time.

here's the text, its REALLY basic so dont laugh...heh heh....

Source:

;practicing repeat until loop

;this program closes after player presses enter/return

Graphics 800,600

Text 0,0, "Why did you open this stupid program?"
Flip
;y is the variable that judges the location of the text
y=12

Repeat
;print text
Text 0,y, "Press Enter to exit."
;wait a sec
Delay 1000
Flip

;move next line of text down
y=y+12

;repeat until user hits enter
Until KeyHit(28)
Text 0,y, "Program is ending."

Flip

;wait 2 seconds
Delay 2000