Animation

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Beginners Area/Animation

coach(Posted 2005) [#1]
How do I animate a person, so that he doesn't just float over the ground?

xlsior(Posted 2005) [#2]
1) Make multiple animation cells
2) Instead of LoadImage, use LoadAnimImage and specify the sizes and numbers of cells
3) When drawing your sprite, there is an additional (optional) parameter where you can specify the cell number... So use a counter or timers, and cycle through the different frames when you draw your sprite.

coach(Posted 2005) [#3]
By 'Make multiple animation cells' do you mean draw the person in different stages of movement? What is a 'sprite'? Please explain it more simply(sorry I don't get this; I'm a beginner)?

Grey Alien(Posted 2005) [#4]
1) Lets say your man is 32 pixels wide and 64 pixels tall, this would be 1 frame (a rectangle). You may need something like 8 frames or more (each showing a slightly different picture) to give the impression of walking (animation). So make a bitmap in paintshop pro or something that is 8x32 pixels wide and 64 pixels tall. You will find it useful to draw 8 rectangles (32 pixels wide) side by side on the blank bitmap. Then you can draw each frame within the rectangles. There are also some tricks to making the man walk smoothly (the same amount each frame) but that's for another day.

2) Now use LoadAnimImage and use the parameters to say you have 8 frames, and each are 32 pixels wide.

3) Make a variable in your program that says which frame the man is on i.e. start it at 0 and when it goes past 7 put it back to 0. Then when you draw your man with DrawImage, just show the correct frame. You will need a decent delay between each frame (i.e. when you add one to the variable mentioned earlier) or he will walk way too fast.