Constant Variables Help?

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Beginners Area/Constant Variables Help?

SebHoll(Posted 2005) [#1]
Hi,
I want to make some of my Global variables into Constant variables because it is faster in the program. However I get and error of "Values must be constant" when I try to put the following definition in:

Const starttime = MilliSecs()
There isn't another variable with the same name and it is written right after the Graphics command. I don't know why it is coming up, anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

Seb

DH(Posted 2005) [#2]
Constant variables are just that, constant.. You can only define constants with a number, decimal, or string value. You can't define them using functions or other variables.

Besides, if your worrying about speed between global and constant, then your about as optimal as you can get.. the difference isn't going to make or break you IMO.

:-)

SebHoll(Posted 2005) [#3]
Thanks.
Why doesn't it accept function returned values?
I am a bit of a rookie at this programming stuff.
:P

Beaker(Posted 2005) [#4]
Precisely because function returned values are not constant.

SebHoll(Posted 2005) [#5]
Sorry, but what do you actually mean by "constant". Doesn't "constant" mean it stays the same, so when you return a value from a function and store it in a constant variable it stays the same. I'm confused.... E.g. if you wrote this:

Const starttime = MilliSecs()

The function "MilliSecs()" at that precise moment would return the number of MilliSeconds passed since system startup and that is assigned to the constant variable "Starttime". In that process the MilliSecs() function hasn't been requested again and thus hasn't been changed, - it's remained constant.

Any help would be much appreciated,

Thanks

Seb

DH(Posted 2005) [#6]
You are correct, the value returned by a function is constant for that moment in time, but then so is every variable for THAT moment in time...