Coding layout problem

BlitzPlus Forums/BlitzPlus Beginners Area/Coding layout problem

Cactus1124(Posted 2014) [#1]
I am new to blitzplus, and I don't know much about it.
That's why I was wondering why people put certain code at different spots on the page...

It's kind of hard to explain, so I copied a random piece of code from the beginner's tutorial to demonstrate.

If iScore>0 Then
Text 200,200, "Score = "+iScore
Else
Text 200,200, "No Score Yet!"
EndIf

Notice how the commands text 200,200 and so on are not completely on the left side of the screen, while some are?
I don't know if you have to do this with certain commands, or yea...

I'm really stuck here, and I would appreciate it if someone could tell a newbie a bit about this.

Thanks!

Cactus1124(Posted 2014) [#2]
I don't know what happened, but the code went all to the left again!
I hope you still get what I mean by all this.

Midimaster(Posted 2014) [#3]
you can use "code tags" to get codeboxes like this:

If iScore>0 Then
      Text 200,200, "Score = "+iScore
Else
      Text 200,200, "No Score Yet!"
EndIf

Set one tag at the beginning of the code. The other on the end. All possible forum codes are here:

http://www.blitzbasic.com/faq/faq_entry.php?id=2

use....
[code][/code]
...for a box, which show the whole length of code. Write your code between the both tags.

Use...
[codebox][/codebox]
...for a box, where the user can scroll through the code.

Andycoop73(Posted 2014) [#4]
To help answer the original question, and I'm no expert some of the words I'm going to use may not be correct.

the computer doesn't care if all the lines start at the left of the screen.
many programmers tab out the code so it's easier to read.