pub.lua

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Module Tweaks/pub.lua

Rozek(Posted 2006) [#1]
Hello!

Since I'm using Lua a lot from within BlitzMax (and currently constructing Lua interfaces for many of the BlitzMax modules), I just wanted to let you know that I've considerably modified and extended the axe.lua module (yielding a "pub.lua" module not to break other code which still uses axe.lua)

The main idea was to support the official Lua API as completely as possible.

You are free to use it - and probably replace axe.lua with it if you find that useful.

As I'm still new to BlitzMax, it's the .bmx file which is available for download only. For the time being, you'll have to build the module yourself (unless somebody instructs me how to deploy the module (cross-platform) over the BlitzMax servers)

I've tested pub.lua under WinXP and MacOSX, but not Linux (yet)

The .bmx file is available under

http://www.Andreas-Rozek.de/BlitzMax/lua.bmx

Any feedback (positive or negative) is welcome.

Dreamora(Posted 2006) [#2]
LUA was originally pub and then moved to AXE.
Reason is, it is not officially supported and only official BRL supported modules should reside within BRL and PUB modservers. Simply reason is: without framework anything from BRL and PUB is automatically imported thus 3rd party definitely shouldn't be in PUB.

Rozek(Posted 2006) [#3]
Oops,

so I did the worst I could do...Well, anyway, as it's not automatically synchronized, it's probably not dangerous in the moment.

Should any "experimental" module go to AXE? Or is there another namespace for experimental modules?

Dreamora(Posted 2006) [#4]
AXE is skidracers modserver
For your own experiments you can simply create a new one.
You can have an "unlimited" amount of mod/someFolder.mod/yourmod.mod folders

Diordna(Posted 2006) [#5]
What's better about this one than axe.lua?

Gabriel(Posted 2006) [#6]