Beginner Tutorial: Using SQLite with BlitzMax

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Tutorials/Beginner Tutorial: Using SQLite with BlitzMax

assari(Posted 2006) [#1]
I have been meaning to learn how to use the SQLite modules that have been written for BlitzMax. I finally had the excuse to do this as an application I'm writing required a database engine.

Special thanks to TeaMonkey and Rene Aye whose examples I studied to figure out how to use the module.

The Tutorials are in two parts: Tutorial 1 and Tutorial 2.

**Added Part 3

Have Fun.

bruZard(Posted 2006) [#2]
wow ... thank you!!

Chris C(Posted 2006) [#3]
as ever, a well laid out and clear tutorial, well done!

RepeatUntil(Posted 2006) [#4]
Great tutorial!!
Maybe you could add (in this thread or in the tutorial) how we can use SQLite for games written with BlitzMax. Some clear examples of application could clarify the use of this tool!

assari(Posted 2006) [#5]
RepeatUntil,
I have no experience using this in a game but databases are not known for their speed. Quote from TeaMonkey's site
Be warned that a database query is pretty slow. Prepared statements are a big performance boost, as are memory tables, but they're still "slow" as far as a realtime game is concerned so try and keep your main loop queries to a minimum.

I remembered reading an article about SQLite and game programming but cannot locate it now :(

allos(Posted 2006) [#6]
Thank you for your very informative SQLite tutorial
I have a question:
when in need to use a SQL function in a query (eg MAX(), COUNT(),...) how can I manage its result?
in the following example of SQL query the value returned by the query shold be the total number of records; I understand that a callback function works on all subsequent records in a query; how can I manage the result of COUNT() function, eg print or store it in a variable?
--- query example (general) ----
SELECT COUNT(field) FROM database