"Extreme Programming" testing in BlitzMax

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Tutorials/"Extreme Programming" testing in BlitzMax

WendellM(Posted 2005) [#1]
I'm still a novice at Extreme Programming, abbreviated "XP" (which has nothing to do with "Windows XP"), but I started playing with it a few months ago and have found it interesting. There are several aspects of it that I've found useful, the main one being its test-driven development. The examples of testing frameworks that I've seen elsewhere are written in C++ or Java, so this tutorial (which is doubtless less than ideal, but is hopefully better than nothing <g>) shows one possible approach using BlitzMax along with a quick introduction to Extreme Programming's designing via testing.

Maybe you're like me... before XP, whenever I'd write a new function or method, I'd write a little throw-away code to test it out. Once I verified that it was working, I'd delete (or sometimes comment out) the test code and move on. With XP, you're just a little more formal in your testing and keep the tests around in easy-to-use, automated form. That way, you can easily test everything each time that you add or change something, to make sure that nothing has been broken.

In fact, in XP you write the test before you write the code that's to be tested. That lets you know when you're done: if the test is passed, you've written enough. It seems a little weird at first (OK, maybe a lot weird <g>), but the aim here is to create just enough functionality to pass the test that you create beforehand.