Threads question

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Threads question

Oddball(Posted 2012) [#1]
This is my first time using threads in BlitzMax and I was wondering about some best practice. Is it ok to create a background thread at application start up and have it run for the lifetime of the app? Or should I be looking to only keep threads live for as short a time as possible?

dynaman(Posted 2012) [#2]
Either is fine.

Corum(Posted 2012) [#3]
I know that Mac OS needs to execute all the graphics related code inside the main thread.
Do someone can confirm this?

PowerPC603(Posted 2012) [#4]
Windows requires it as well.
I figured that out myself.

I had the main thread doing the rendering, while a separate thread just created 1 sphere every 100ms.

Most of the time it was ok, but sometimes then app just crashed on xRenderWorld (I was using Xors3D engine).
I suppose that was because the main thread was rendering the world while the separate thread was busy creating a sphere, but wasn't completed, and this corrupted some data, resulting in an app crash.

jsp(Posted 2012) [#5]
And as with the graphics it's the same with MaxGUI, use it only from the main thread.
I also start a background thread at application start and then schedule new threads from there. That keeps things separate, which is very important.
Starting and stopping threads add a little overhead, so if that is a problem the thread could go idle until used again.

Oddball(Posted 2012) [#6]
Thanks everybody. I've got threads up and running now. I'm putting together a little something for an event on Sunday. If everything goes well I'll have some pics to show on Monday.

Mahan(Posted 2012) [#7]
Best practices with threads:

1. Keep ALL drawing/GUI in the main thread. (As most ppl already mentioned.)

and equally important:

2. Keep data and state separated between threads and know your "channels".