Collecting log data

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Collecting log data

Grey Alien(Posted 2011) [#1]
Hi all, I'm adding a log to my latest game so that beta testers can send back log info. They could send it back several ways:

1) Manually find the log file (not easy due to proper save file locations in Vista/Win7) and email it to me.
2) I launch the default email program and either a) paste the log into it in a format that I can copy/paste into Excel or b) auto-attach the file (not sure if that's even possible). A potential problem with this is that the default mail program might not actually be the one they are using, but that won't be too common.
3) Send it via the Internet somehow (store online?), but I'm a total noob at this and think it might take too long to figure out.
4) Use an Internet database and send the records off to that.

Any other ideas?

Also does anyone have any BlitzMax code to do no.2 the email thing? I really don't have long to implement this so I'm looking for something quick and dirty.

Thanks!

GfK(Posted 2011) [#2]
There's some code to send e-mail in the code archives (I think BlitzSupport wrote it). You could use that so all the tester has to do is click a button, it attaches the logfile and sends it automatically. Like, witchcraft.

[edit] http://www.blitzbasic.com/codearcs/codearcs.php?cat=4

Plenty of examples in there. Turns out James' one is 9 years old!

Last edited 2011

Gabriel(Posted 2011) [#3]
They grow up so fast.

Grey Alien(Posted 2011) [#4]
Thanks! I shoulda looked there. I don't see any that attach a file, but I should be able to paste the file into the email body which is OK, just not as neat.

Grey Alien(Posted 2011) [#5]
OK so I tried out MaxMail ( http://www.blitzbasic.com/codearcs/codearcs.php?code=2165 )

But I'm still noobish. What do I enter for MailHost? I guess that's my ISP if it's on my PC, but what about on beta testers' PCs? Can I auto-detect their mailhost somehow?

Grey Alien(Posted 2011) [#6]