Fast enough for an emulator?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Fast enough for an emulator?

Rick_72(Posted 2011) [#1]
Hi guys,

I was wondering whether BMax is fast to run a simple emulator of an 6809 system (at 1.5 MHz) with a simple video output. Actually I plan to build a Vextrex emulator.

Of course this depends on the hardware it is ran on and the cleanness of software design. My machine is quite fast so I am not worried about my machine specs. Of course this is not matter of programming languages - I am aware of that.

Given that is all mentioned above is almost perfect (design) what would think about this project? Does any of you have experience in building such machine?

Tx,
Rick

BlitzSupport(Posted 2011) [#2]
Have a look at this...

http://sites.google.com/site/rveilleux/blitzmaxarcadeemulatortutorial

I know someone did a Spectrum emulator many years ago, too, and seem to recall that ran full speed.

Jesse(Posted 2011) [#3]
I'm no expert on the subject so I don't know how efficiently it can emulate different processors and it's corresponding hardware so I can't really be much help but somebody here made an emulator for the arcade Space Invaders that works quite well. you can find it here:
http://www.blitzmax.com/Community/posts.php?topic=76057

[edit]
oops!
same post as James.

Last edited 2011

Rick_72(Posted 2011) [#4]
Very cool indeed!
Thanks for your fast replies! That really helps.

Floyd(Posted 2011) [#5]
I would say yes, based on no experience at all.

How could BlitzMax not be adequate when the hardware is more than a thousand times as fast? I know Vectex was vector-based, but you ought to able to emulate that even if you were drawing pixels. But I assume it would really be done with the 3D hardware drawing vectors as skinny polygons.

col(Posted 2011) [#6]
Hi, BMax is certainly more than fast enough. I've made a Z80 emulator than can run most (not all) Z80 code, in fact it runs the arcade ROM of the original Pacman.