Best Way to Send Data to WebServer From Bmax app?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Best Way to Send Data to WebServer From Bmax app?

Rixarn(Posted 2010) [#1]
Hi!

This is my current scenario.

I'm using Brucey's SQLite mod for data storage in my Bmax App. What i want to do is send data from the SQLite database to my server's database. When i say data i mean something in the order of hundreds of rows (worst case scenario thousands of rows) from different tables of the SQLite to the server's MySQL database.

So far i've used Brucey's LibCurl lib to send data via POST to a php script that injects the data in the MySQL database. But... that's for small chunks of data. Since i have little experience with webservers and databases, i don't know how if that technique will saturate the server if multiple users do it at the same time.

Any suggestions? Or is this the way to go? What would you do?

Thanks!

siread(Posted 2011) [#2]
I'm in a similar position. I don't have to send hundreds of rows but I do anticipate hundreds of players submitting data at the same time. I also would like to retrieve 100s of rows every few minutes for every player (leaderboards).

I'm currently restructuring my website, moving all the images and download files to Amazon S3. This will take a load off my own server (a cheap VPS). I've also decided to use the Amazon Simple DB to store the leaderboard data as this is highly scalable and is automatically backed up. That just leaves my VPS with the task of hosting the html and php pages (and my forum). I'm hoping that an upgrade of RAM+CPU on the VPS will suffice but I really feel that I'm stepping into the unknown. What would be ideal is some kind of scalable, cloud-based PHP hosting but Amazon EC2 is a bit beyond my expertise (I'm no server admin) and I haven't found a simpler solution yet.

Last edited 2011

ima747(Posted 2011) [#3]