Some Multi-Threading Tips...

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Some Multi-Threading Tips...

jondecker76(Posted 2010) [#1]
Hello. I'm very new to BMax, but I have just successfully completed my first application (a photobooth application). Since my webcam framerate was 15 FPS, it was dragging my entire application down to 15 FPS, as execution halted while the program was grabbing the webcam image frames. I wanted to add a thread who's sole purpose was to do a loop, grabbing webcam frames (at the horribly slow 15fps), so that my main application was free to run at higher framerates (I use some animations and such that looked horrible at 15 FPS)
I also wanted to make it so that multithreading could be turned on and off (I.e. I didn't want to hard-code it to be multithreading). Below is the solution I came up with (pseudocode) that allows my application to run both threaded and non-threaded. I wanted to share this, as I'm sure it could help other people out!
(My application went from 15 FPS to over 50 by threading my camera capture code!)

NOTE: The following code will not compile - it is for illustration purposes only and is made as simple as possible to illustrate the technique!

TCam.bmx:
Type TCam
	Field img:TImage
	Field mux:TMutex

Method Update()
		'The update() method can be run from the main application, or a separate thread.
		'It is responsible for grabbing an image from the webcam and updating the img field.
		'NOTE:the function grabFrame() below is in an external c file

'since the Draw() method can access the img field, we will lock it while we fill it with data!
		'Only lock it if a Mutex has been set for it! (it acts as a flag in this situation telling whether we are running in a thread or not)
		'This makes it thread-safe while running in multi-threaded, and also work if not running threaded.
		If Self.mux Then LockMutex(Self.mux)
		Self.img=grabFrame()
		If Self.mux Then UnLockMutex(Self.mux)
	End Method

Method Draw(x:Int,y:Int)