LockMutex never continues in child thread...

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/LockMutex never continues in child thread...

ima747(Posted 2010) [#1]
I'm just getting started with bmax's threading system, and making surprisingly good progress so far, but I have hit a snag. It seems that in my child threads LockMutex blocks like it should, but when the mutex is unlocked the child never resumes...

illustration:
Main thread spawns child thread
mt: locks a mutex to prevent all graphics access
ct: attempts to lock graphics access, but it's already locked by mt, child blocks
mt: finishes with graphics, unlockes graphics access mutex
ct: ... nothing happens
mt: locks graphics, does stuff, unlocks, etc. eventually runs out of things to do so just kicks a WaitSystem() so it doesn't idle in a loop wasting processor time
ct: ... (guess: got bored is now finger painting)

TrLockMutex however works fine. I have a different type of child thread that does some loading, then keeps querying the graphics lock with trylockmutex until it becomes open, does it's graphics stuff and unlocks, and all is well there... but it seems to me that lockmutex is supposed to prevent me from having to do exactly that...

Otus(Posted 2010) [#2]
So if you do nothing except replace LockMutex calls in the thread with the following it works?
While Not TryLockMutex(mutex)
Wend

ima747(Posted 2010) [#3]
Yup. my code was doing some other things, but I just replaced my other workaround with that (much simpler) approach and it works...

ima747(Posted 2010) [#4]
I don't know if I was clear before or if it matters, but this is only in child threads, the main thread blocks properly with LockMutex() and resumes properly. but lockmutex() in a child thread causes the thread to block forever.

Otus(Posted 2010) [#5]
OK, then this must be a bug. Which OS do you use?

ima747(Posted 2010) [#6]