Making a Swinging Rope in a Platform game

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Making a Swinging Rope in a Platform game

Rico(Posted 2010) [#1]
Hi i am writing a platform game, and its going well so far, but i would like to have a swinging rope in there, which the character can jump on. When i think of ropes in platform games i always thing of the one in Jet Set Willy which was made out of lots of dots/squares. How can i make such a rope?. i have never done one before and i am unsure how to go about it. can a rope be made from lines somehow? i would like the rope to have some thickness.

there used to be a routine i had called ColorRope i think which i got from the old Blitz 2D forum, however i lost that with my old computer. that drew a rope like i want.

ImaginaryHuman(Posted 2010) [#2]
You could use lines, you could have several vartical sections each of which starts on a given row and ends on a given row, then to make it wider you just add more lines to the sides of it.. it wouldn't be accurate but it'd be reasonable. You'd need some collisione detection in order to detect rope colliding with player. To get more advanced you'd need physics and textured polygon routines.

CGV(Posted 2010) [#3]
You're looking for this maybe?

Rico(Posted 2010) [#4]
thank you very much CGV, that looks great, how can i do collision detection with the rope - ie to see if the main character lands on it? thats a very nice routine though :) just what i was thinking of.

theHand(Posted 2010) [#5]
Rico I recommend you start learning Trigonometry now so that you will have it in the future (checkout a couple books on it at your local library). It's a great asset (look at that Cosine function on the rope, you will have a much better understanding of how it works and will be able to do many, many more fun things like the swingy rope)

Rico(Posted 2010) [#6]