DLLs and the Licence Agreement

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/DLLs and the Licence Agreement

Czar Flavius(Posted 2010) [#1]
I'm interested in making a DLL, but I don't want to break the licence agreement. I'm not an expert on such things, so I would appreciate it if anyone could clarify exactly what it means!

You may distribute executable applications built from
this source code under your own licensing terms. You may
not distribute static or dynamic library files based in
whole or in part on this source code.

What does this mean I am allowed to put into a DLL?

Htbaa(Posted 2010) [#2]
My guess is meaning that you export native BlitzMax functions etc. Purely your own. So, for example, you can't export DrawRect. If you were to make a DLL out of MaxGUI with all its functions exported, that wouldn't be allowed.

markcw(Posted 2010) [#3]
This question pops up every now and then, I found the last one here.

I agree with Htbaa, I think it means you're not allowed to distribute a BlitzMax dll with any official BlitzMax module dependencies included because then anyone could legally expose all the BlitzMax functions for free in a dll.

If you want an official answer you will need to email Mark Sibly.

Czar Flavius(Posted 2010) [#4]
For example, I use TLists in my project, does this mean I'd need to include the TList source code in my DLL for it to work? Is that allowed? That's the kind of thing which is confusing me. Of course I don't want to pirate BlitzMax, but I may want to use DrawRect in my program for example, what does that mean licence-wise?

Gabriel(Posted 2010) [#5]