New features for Bmax needed

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/New features for Bmax needed

sebas76(Posted 2009) [#1]
Hi to all bmax coders,

I'm an experienced coder from years : I've coded in C/C++/ASM.
I code also in bmax for a CAD software but I'd like to know if the following features will be integrate in bmax soon :
- redefinition of operators like +, = , * , / because it is very useful for vectors and matrix operations.
- multiple definition of the same method in Type like :
Type
field ...
Method set( c:color )
Method set( r:int,v:int,b:int)
End type
- a full documentation with all features like reflection etc...

Thanks.

therevills(Posted 2009) [#2]
Hi Coconut

I hate operator overloading! It makes code very unreadable... I know its got a place in coding but meh! LOL

I dont think it will every get added to BMax.

Method/Function overloading would be great, but again I dont think it would get added to BMax.

Regarding documentation, I find that you can find most of what you are after from these forums :)

sebas76(Posted 2009) [#3]
Hi therevills,

I like operator overloading : why ? simply because I use a lot of graphics functions with vectore,points,matrix...
and it is simple to read :

v1,v2,v3:vector
v1=v2+v3

or

v1 = v3.add(v2) ?

Doc through forums is not a good way, I prefer a real manual with all functions / type describe because sometimes you need to search a little more with forums.

Brucey(Posted 2009) [#4]
Doc through forums is not a good way, I prefer a real manual

I have to agree.

And method overloading would make wrapping 3rd-party c++ libraries much simpler for those that do it :-p

_JIM(Posted 2009) [#5]
Method overloading is probably the feature that I miss the most in BMax.

Winni(Posted 2009) [#6]
When you listen to James Gosling and the other Java "fathers", operator overloading is evil. That's probably why they used themselves only for the string class...