How to calculate "darkness" of a colour?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/How to calculate "darkness" of a colour?

Chalky(Posted 2009) [#1]
I am writing a fullscreen window GUI system and want to allow the user to change the colour schemes. Window titles etc. will need to be drawn in either white or black, depending on how dark (or light) the window borders are. Having retrieved the border's RGB value via ReadPixel, how can I tell how "dark" the colour is?

TaskMaster(Posted 2009) [#2]
Why not just allow them to change the text color as well? Then it is their choice, you you won't have to mess with it.

EOF(Posted 2009) [#3]
I'm no expert on colour but I believe you would need to convert your RGB to HSL (Hue, Saturation, Luminance)
Where Luminance would give you it's brightness

The code archives has some *.bb code which may help:

http://www.blitzmax.com/codearcs/codearcs.php?code=2333

Also, see:
http://130.113.54.154/~monger/hsl-rgb.html

Who was John Galt?(Posted 2009) [#4]
Just add the red, green and blue values. This will give you a measure of the brightness.

Czar Flavius(Posted 2009) [#5]
Just add the red, green and blue values. This will give you a measure of the brightness.
Not necessarily, 255-255-0 yellow is just as bright as either 255-0-0 red or 0-255-0 green for instance. All three have luminosity of 120 according to Paint.

dynaman(Posted 2009) [#6]
(just a guess here)
use the highest color

255-0-0 is just as bright as 255-255-255. (different shade, but just as bright)

if the number is closer to 255 then use black, otherwise use white.

Czar Flavius(Posted 2009) [#7]
I'm afraid that doesn't help either, as Paint thinks 255-255-127 is brighter than 255-255-0 :P (and it looks it too, bright shade of yellow) I think you'll need to look up one of dem matamatiks furmulaz.

Chalky(Posted 2009) [#8]
Why not just allow them to change the text color as well? Then it is their choice, you you won't have to mess with it.