Older Basic Languages TO Blitzmax

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Older Basic Languages TO Blitzmax

Shortwind(Posted 2009) [#1]
Would anyone be interested in a program that can take old style basic listings for older computers and convert them to run under blitzmax?

I'm thinking at this point including:

1. C64 (Standard, and possibly Simon's Basic)
2. TI 99/4A (Standard)
3. Other "generic" line numbered basics. (PC GWBasic for example.)

Reason for this? Challenge, fun, learning.

If interested in seeing some results, please vote 1,2 or 3.

Thanks.

GfK(Posted 2009) [#2]
Locomotive BASIC. Its what I started programming in, in 1986.

Shortwind(Posted 2009) [#3]
@GfK

Never seen this Basic dialect. If you can supply the following information I can take it into consideration... The program I'm planning should be able to handle most versions of basic... in time.

1. Which Machine did you use this on.
2. Do you have links to a manual. (Since I've never used this before)
3. Are there code listings available to test.

:)

GfK(Posted 2009) [#4]
1. Amstrad CPC464

2/3. Might find some useful stuff here.

The first two links are the 'official' manual, but one is spanish, the other french. The English version contained loads of code samples and stuff.

[edit] The CPC664 (7.2MB, PDF) manual is pretty much the same. Loads of code in there but bear in mind it was written a quarter of a century ago and is aimed at absolute beginners.

CS_TBL(Posted 2009) [#5]
Problems:

Old BASICs are often structured like a plate o' spagetti. It's often more practical to just rewrite from scratch.

Old BASICs ran on old computers, old computers had videochips which often had typical tricks in order to get somewhere, whereas modern computers (and Blitz languages) are far more simple: blit till you drop. Similar for sound chips.

The word 'emulator' buzzes between my ears.. :P

markcw(Posted 2009) [#6]