Physics help!

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Physics help!

Ked(Posted 2009) [#1]
NOTE: It's kind of late, and I'm having trouble concentrating so stay with me. Sorry if some of this doesn't make sense.

How can I make particles bounce of walls in my 2D maps? Like a simple explosion. All, say, 20 particles start off at x and y. All particles are given an angle of Rnd(0,360). All particles are given an xspd and yspd of Rnd(1,5) and Rnd(1,5). Move particles with
x:+Sin(angle)*xspd
y:+Cos(angle)*yspd

When a collision is made with the walls of the map, how can I make them "bounce" away?

Sorry, again, for what looks like a bunch of fragment sentences above.

DjBigWorm(Posted 2009) [#2]
HI,
Well I am not a pro at programming but the answer you seek is simple once broke down to theory:) I check for collisions one plane at a time.
Say check for collision at the particles x location + xspd (problem with this if the particle is traveling faster than your blocks are wide it will go right though them).
If this comes back as a collision then make the xspd a negative value.
Same would be true if the xspd was negative, check collision then make a xspd positive value and would give the illusion of bouncing off walls n such.
When I program tile based games, I have a layer of solid colors)
I check pixels for color value then decide what action to take from there. In a mario brother type game you just check to see if the particle is in the sector of a block.
You get the (x+xoffset_of_map)/width_of_block and this returns how many blocks over your x is. same is true for the y location of the map.

I hope this kind of helps you out. If not I can try to be more clear. Happy Programming!! (don't hold me on the math above:)

Nate the Great(Posted 2009) [#3]
what you need to do for the sake of making your physics 100 times easier is do the sin,cos stuff once and store that in a dx and dy value in the type. then you just do

x:+dx
y:+dy