bottlenecks and optimization

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/bottlenecks and optimization

Nate the Great(Posted 2009) [#1]
Hi,

I was doing some tests of my physics engine on different machines and I just noticed something a bit odd. It seems as though my verlet engine has a bottle neck. Here is how I found out.(Look at statistics below for details) This is a few frames in a row with 900 objects and who knows how many constraints. But the constraints dont matter because the bottle neck is not in the constraint loop. Most of the time it is a steady 18 milliseconds on the update loop but every 50ish frames, I run into a bottleneck like this one where it jumps to the 20's for a few frames. This unfortunately, happens for all numbers of objects. I have posted my updateverlets function below. But since I am relatively new to blitz max, I have no idea what can cause bottle necks like this. Can anyone see a bottleneck? Perhaps I am blind but I dont see anything that could cause a potential bottleneck.

UpdateLoop 12
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 1
UpdateLoop 22
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 25
ConstraintLoop 1
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 19
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 1
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 1
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 1
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 1
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 19
ConstraintLoop 1
UpdateLoop 17
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 19
ConstraintLoop 1
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 19
ConstraintLoop 1
UpdateLoop 19
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 17
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 1
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 1
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 1
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 2
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 1
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 1
UpdateLoop 18
ConstraintLoop 1