Vista weirdness...

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Vista weirdness...

marksibly(Posted 2009) [#1]
Hi,

I'm just trying to clean things up a little on Vista, but have discovered something very odd.

On my machine, if I run this app from a console as non-admin, the directories appear to get created - but they don't show up in explorer or even dos!
Strict

CreateDir "c:\program files\bbhtml"
CreateDir "c:\program files\bbhtml\dir1"
CreateDir "c:\program files\bbhtml\dir2"

For Local t$=EachIn LoadDir( "c:\program files\bbhtml" )
	Print t
Next

On the other hand, running this as admin also creates the directories, only you *can* see them in explorer/dos.

I was under the impression that you *couldn't* create anything in program files unless you were admin, but from the above it appears you can, they're just not visible!

Anyone have any idea what might be going on here, or how I might be able to 'see' such hidden files?

I'm not good with Vista's admin/UAC stuff - and the deeper into it I go, the weirder it all gets.

Robert Cummings(Posted 2009) [#2]
Try a unique name then doing a search as admin to see what shows up.

skidracer(Posted 2009) [#3]
i think you'be been virtualised!

Attempting to create or write a file or directory under a folder which does not grant write permission to the process will fail under Windows Vista if the application does not have administrative privileges. If your 32-bit game executable is running in legacy mode, because it did not declare a requested execution level, its write operations will succeed, but they will be subjected to virtualization as described in the section "UAC Compatibility with Older Games" later in this article.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb206295.aspx

GaryV(Posted 2009) [#4]
They are being created, but are being put in your virtual store.

Grey Alien(Posted 2009) [#5]