Threading is great! but is it great for physics?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Threading is great! but is it great for physics?

Nate the Great(Posted 2009) [#1]
Hi

I have been working on a verlet physics engine and I was wondering if it is a good idea to incorperate threading into the physics engine or is it even possible for that matter? I think I can get it set up so that there are 2 threads.. one would be the game. the second one would update the physics. Sorry I am new to threading so please share your thoughts on using threading like this. One last question. Is this what threading was meant for? if not then what was it meant for?

Htbaa(Posted 2009) [#2]
I've never done anything with threads yet so I've got no experience on that field. But having read quite a few things about it I think updating the physics is something that belongs to the main game loop.

Stuff I'd want to be using threads for is stuff like AI. Like in an RTS where for every AI commander a thread is being used to plan strategies, command units and such. Or a path finding algorithm when using very big maps, which normally could give the game hick ups because it's taking a bit too long before a path has been found.

Just some thoughts.

Edit: Just found this page (http://farseerphysics.codeplex.com/Thread/View.aspx?ThreadId=27737). They are talking about having a thread which updates the physics at a higher frequency than the amount of frames that are being rendered. So you'll get a thread for running game logic, and a thread for rendering.

Nate the Great(Posted 2009) [#3]
Hmm.. I see your point. Maybe everything that could be slow but the physics should be done in a thread?

ImaginaryHuman(Posted 2009) [#4]