blitz max great language but slower than expected?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/blitz max great language but slower than expected?

Nate the Great(Posted 2009) [#1]
hi,

I am in no way saying blitz max is a bad product, it is an awesome language and very fast at most things, but I just thought it would be as fast as C++ am I mistaken? It is much faster than b3d but the speed just doesnt compare to C++. it could just be that I am a noob to Bmax though and I dont know how to optimize things properly. Also is it possible to program in C++ in blitz max? or is that only with B3d SDK?

plash(Posted 2009) [#2]
BlitzMax is actually just as fast, or faster in some cases vs C++.

I wouldn't start throwing out things like that unless you know what your talking about. There have been several tests in the past.
Even if BlitzMax is slower than C++ in some cases, it usually isn't far behind at all.

Nate the Great(Posted 2009) [#3]
ok I guess its just because im new to bmax and not very good at optimizing things yet.

marksibly(Posted 2009) [#4]
Hi,

BlitzMax isn't quite as fast as C++ - but it often comes close!

If you're having problems with speed, post some specific examples and I'm sure people would be able to suggest ways to improve them.

Nate the Great(Posted 2009) [#5]
ok thanks mark!

I just did a basic test and it seems bmax is very close to C++. It must be some inefficient coding by me.

thanks

slenkar(Posted 2009) [#6]
maybe its lists?

A lot of people say they are slow

Can you do some comparisons between blitz and C lists?

Nate the Great(Posted 2009) [#7]
lists! if lists are slow then im in trouble because I have at least 10 of them. that could be what is slowing me down so much. would it be faster to use one global list?

ImaginaryHuman(Posted 2009) [#8]
Choosing a better algorithm can sometimes help more than anything, too.

Nate the Great(Posted 2009) [#9]