memory leak

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/memory leak

Gillissie(Posted 2008) [#1]
I am new to BlitzMax, so I wanted to experiment with the garbage collection idea to make sure I understand how it works to avoid memory leaks. In my first basic example, there appears to be a memory leak.

SuperStrict

Type ta
	Field a%,b%,c%
End Type

Type tb
	Field a:ta
End Type

GCCollect()
Print "0 Objects: " + GCMemAlloced()

Local b:tb = New tb

GCCollect()
Print "1 Objects: " + GCMemAlloced()

b.a = New ta

GCCollect()
Print "2 Objects: " + GCMemAlloced()

b.a = Null  ' comment this for even more leakage, since b.a apparently isn't collected after b is collected below. Or maybe b isn't being collected at all?

GCCollect()
Print "1 Objects: " + GCMemAlloced()

b = Null

GCCollect()
Print "0 Objects: " + GCMemAlloced()

skidracer(Posted 2008) [#2]
Strings are objects too.

Blitz GC is both I think incremental in nature and hard to predict at the best of times, that doesn't make it bad, it just makes it fast.

Also, putting your code in a loop shows it doesn't leak.

dmaz(Posted 2008) [#3]
people are way to freaked out and misinformed about this leak stuff. there is no leak in your code above even if you comment out those lines. the GC in blitz does it's job as it sees fit at the time.... just because you call GCCollect yourself, it doesn't mean those things are ready for collection.

there are few reasons to null your variables at all in blitz. the ref counter will take care of this just find as it does in your code above. you really only have to null cyclic references.(when one object points to another and that object points back)

As skid said, put it in a loop....

GaryV(Posted 2008) [#4]
The GC in BlitzMax does take a little getting used to, but in my experience, it is rock solid.

MGE(Posted 2008) [#5]
"you really only have to null cyclic references. When one object points to another and that object points back"

Amen to that. :)

Gillissie(Posted 2008) [#6]