programming practice: composition (aggregation)?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/programming practice: composition (aggregation)?

gameproducer(Posted 2008) [#1]
AlexO pointed out composition(aggregation) over inheritance in this thread, and I'd like to know more about how to use it in bmax (syntax+examples)

Inheritance is something I know how to use, and I've just recently heard about composition (or aggregation). Could somebody provide a sample bmax code that uses composition - since right now I'm very new to bmax+OO including composition) stuff in general... I've read & seen pictures about what this is, but wasn't sure how it works in bmax.

I know that my game would seriously benefit from having a composition (since in Blitz3D I had this one HUGE "class" that had EVERYTHING in it :D). Now I'd like to understand how compose things in bmax.

Any pointers/links/aid would be great.

AlexO(Posted 2008) [#2]
Hi Again,

I figured I'd post a little something about it since I've been using it for a bit. I wrote up a quickie (although a bit lengthy) example of how it could work in blitzmax.

Let's start with the syntax of how it'd be used since ultimately that's what we're trying to go for once all the nitty-gritty is implemented:

so let's say your game requires physics for multiple objects. But you have one particular type of 'object' that needs physics AND be controlled by the player BUT you don't want collision detection for the player as they can walk through walls for instance:

' lets make an object that has physics, AND can be controlled by our player.
Local myPlayer:TBaseObject = TBaseObject.Create("Robot", 40, 40)

'...now to give our new empty object physics and controls we simply add the functionality to them
myPlayer.AddComponent(New TPhysicsComponent)
myPlayer.AddComponent(New TControllerComponent)
myPlayer.Init()

' lets run it!
myPlayer.Update()