Civilization Type Map ...

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Civilization Type Map ...

mic_pringle(Posted 2008) [#1]
Hi,

Could someone please point me in the right direction on how to create a Civilization type map ?

What I mean by this is where the map is much larger than the screen, and you can move around the map by mouse clicking and dragging, similar to how Google maps works I suppose ?

Also, is it possible to implement some level of zooming with this ?

(I'm a newbie to BlitzMax so all/any help will be greatly appreciated)

Thanks

-Mic

tonyg(Posted 2008) [#2]
Look for a map editor or tilemap editor : Mappy, Tilestudio, WorldArtist, UME, FishEd.
or
Create your own : 2D Tile map engine
How to use tiles

Hotshot2005(Posted 2008) [#3]
with 2D Tile map engine...you can create own Gaunlet :)

jtfrench(Posted 2008) [#4]
Not exactly sure if you just want to create a map for a pre-existing system/renderer (in which case just using the tools above is fine), or if you're actually writing a game/app of some sort that needs to render its own Civilization-style maps.

In case of the latter, learning about 2D tile-based maps is definitely the way to go. Once you know how to blit tiles and smooth-scroll them, you've pretty much got the foundation of most 2D scrollers.

If you're really looking to emulate the look of Civilization, you then want to check out isometric rendering, which gives you the slanted, pseudo 3D look seen in the Diablo and SimCity games. You get the depth of a (fixed) 3D perspective, but the computational & conceptual complexity of regular ol' 2D side-scroller.