Why doesn't SuperStrict throw an error if...

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Why doesn't SuperStrict throw an error if...

plash(Posted 2008) [#1]
...a function, that has a return type, does not return something?

SuperStrict

Framework brl.standardio

Local something:Object = IReturnSomething()

Function IReturnSomething:Object()

Print "OHai!"

End Function

ImaginaryHuman(Posted 2008) [#2]
It'll return Null?

degac(Posted 2008) [#3]
Maybe because in your example nothing is returned.
Or it's handled automatically by bmax

big10p(Posted 2008) [#4]
I'm new to blitzmax but that does seem odd to me for SuperStrict Plash, yes.

plash(Posted 2008) [#5]
It'll return Null?
It has a return type, and should throw an error because I am not returning a value - imo.

Maybe because in your example nothing is returned.
That's the point, it should throw an error.. :(

Or it's handled automatically by bmax
I wish it weren't. SuperStrict is for avoiding typo's/error's, the function should have to return something in code, not by default.

I'm new to blitzmax but that does seem odd to me for SuperStrict Plash, yes.
:/

*(Posted 2008) [#6]
Basically its down to you to check something is loaded into the object, this is the same for ALL loading commands its down to you to check its loaded. If nothing can be loaded it returns Null as default, just check to make sure your value isnt null and you will be ok.

I prefer BlitzMax SuperStrict to stick to the way it is as checking for null is a lot easier than checking through for loads of errors because I didnt return a value, its not C where 'function should return a value' warnings crop up everywhere.

plash(Posted 2008) [#7]
its not C where 'function should return a value' warnings crop up everywhere