How does Try/Catch work?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/How does Try/Catch work?

Russell(Posted 2008) [#1]
I'm new to this aspect of error detection, so bare with me.
I have a program that needs to read some data from disk into a data structure. I want to be able to catch a file error such as reading beyond the end of the file, etc, so I thought I could put the ReadShort()s/ReadLong()s, etc inside a Try/Catch block and I could nab an error before it causes major problems. Take a look at the following test code:
t:TStream = WriteStream("testfile.bla")
WriteLong(t,20000)
WriteLong(t,30000)
CloseStream(t)

Try
	u:TStream = OpenStream("testfile.bla")
	a:Long = ReadLong(u)
	b:Long = ReadLong(u)
	c:Long = ReadLong(u)   ' Does not cause an error!
	d:Long = ReadLong(u)  ' Neither does this!
Catch err:TStreamReadException
	If err <> Null Then End  ' This line is never executed
EndTry

Print a
Print b
Print c
Print d
CloseStream(u)

The third and fourth Readxxxx() lines simply return zero (which I suppose could be handy in some situations), so how can I distinguish between an error zero and a legitimate value of zero read from the file?

According to the docs, if ReadShort() etc can not read enough data, they throw a TStreamReadException error. So how do I 'catch' that error and act accordingly?

Thanks,
Russell

plash(Posted 2008) [#2]
Something doesn't seem right here...

For a better example on how to use Try/Catch:
SuperStrict

Framework brl.standardio
Import brl.stream

Try

Throw New(TStreamReadException)

Catch e:Object

Print e.ToString()
	End

End Try

End

Grey Alien(Posted 2008) [#3]
so bare with me
Much as I like this forum, I'm not getting naked.

markcw(Posted 2008) [#4]
This should help
http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/exceptions.html

Brucey(Posted 2008) [#5]
You example doesn't raise an exception because EOF has been reached after the second ReadLong().

This causes, internally, ReadBytes() to return 8, and not throw an exception.