batched point sprites benchmark

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/batched point sprites benchmark

dmaz(Posted 2008) [#1]
I'd like to compare the cards/machines from MGE and Grey's thread with this executable here.
http://www.ooeyug.com/files/pstest.exe

ok I expected more of a difference. I'm no opengl expert but point sprites -seem- pretty easy. I may be doing something wrong. the code below won't compile since I used some of my util includes... just remove that code if you want to modify.

my results (fast computer/card)
GL 2.0
4024 DrawPointSprites
3450 DrawImage

this test doesn't have any texture switching... maybe it's just not worth it on my card.... oh alphablended point sprites seem to do almost the same as DrawImage on my card.

MGE(Posted 2008) [#2]
GL 1.3

PointSprites: Nothing rendered.
DrawImage: 54fps
GPU: Intel 82845G on Celeron 2.93ghz

Grey Alien(Posted 2008) [#3]
Gl 2.0

Not sure which mode is which, but when it says [S]DrawPointSprite I get 2500FPS and when it says [S]DrawImage I get 1500FPS.

CPU: P4 3.2GHz XP SP2
GPU: Radeon HD 2600XT AGP 512MB GDDR3

dmaz(Posted 2008) [#4]
@MGE, that's funny, 1.3 is supposed to have point sprites. I'll make a change in the code when I get home tonight. is that a pretty old driver on that machine?

my work machine
GL 1.4

220 drawpointsprite
159 drawimage

CPU: intel 1.59GHz
GPU: intel 9466GZ onboard

slenkar(Posted 2008) [#5]
GL 1.3

20FPS for pointsprites

Intel graphics

dmaz(Posted 2008) [#6]
Jeremy, nothing for DrawImage?

press the 'S' key to switch between.

slenkar(Posted 2008) [#7]
no, nothing, just pointsprites

plash(Posted 2008) [#8]
GL 2.0

[S]DrawPointSprite: 3000FPS
[S]DrawImage: 1770FPS

Muttley(Posted 2008) [#9]
GL 2.0

[S]DrawPointSprite: 3221FPS
[S]DrawImage: 2517FPS

Kurator(Posted 2008) [#10]
GL 2.0, 1, 64

Image: 4223 FPS
Point: 2750 FPS

NV GF 8800GTS, Q6600

Gabriel(Posted 2008) [#11]