Import Vs Include

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Import Vs Include

zambani(Posted 2008) [#1]
Hi everyone, I'm relatively new to Bmax.
What's the diffrence between Import and Include. It seems like Include is all you need. When is Import usefull.
Also, how can I precomplie a .bmx file to be used later on

Thanks.

christian223(Posted 2008) [#2]
Include includes all the code in a file into another file, so the end result is a bigger file. Import does not include, so the file size is smaller. Use the search function, im sure youll find a better answer in posts of the pasts. There is also a sticky on the beginers forum you should check.

ziggy(Posted 2008) [#3]
imported files are compiled separately, while included files are compiled like one big file. There are several diferences when dealing with several files in the same application using import and include.

The first one is that imported files doesn't share globals and types with the file they are being imported to, while this is possible on included files. Imported files are also compiled separatelly, that improves compilation time sometimes and that files can be safely shared across several programs.
In general therms I would recommend you to use include untill you're more familiar with BlitzMax.

the file size of the resultant executable should be very similar (if not the same) when using imports or includes to add files to your program or application.

zambani(Posted 2008) [#4]
The first one is that imported files doesn't share globals and types with the file they are being imported to, while this is possible on included files. Imported files are also compiled separatelly, that improves compilation time sometimes and that files can be safely shared across several programs.
In general therms I would recommend you to use include untill you're more familiar with BlitzMax.

So what's the most common reason to use import instead of include?

Gabriel(Posted 2008) [#5]