New user

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/New user

jsc(Posted 2008) [#1]
Hello!
I am a new BlitzMax user, just beginning to learn this great programming language.
I am not a professional programmer, nor plan to live out of this, nor make any money. My only wish is having fun in my spare time (not much, to tell the truth...), and maybe posting here (when I find how!) or elsewhere something interesting... if I manage to do it!

Enough!. Now, to write my "Hello world!"!!

jsc

SebHoll(Posted 2008) [#2]
Hi Jsc,

Welcome to the community. ;-)

(And good luck with your first BlitzMax program...) :-P

Zeke(Posted 2008) [#3]
Welcome jsc!

Perturbatio(Posted 2008) [#4]
hello :)

plash(Posted 2008) [#5]
Hi,

Just a few pointers for beginners: Remember to use the search function on the forums (or Google [site:www.blitzbasic.com hello world!]). For posting code, images, links etc please see: http://www.blitzbasic.com/faq/faq_entry.php?id=2

The beginners forum is a decent place to get your grips as well.

Canardian(Posted 2008) [#6]
That's indeed a good choice. BlitzMax will bring you lots of fun in casual programming, and it can be used for professional results too.

There are also 3D engines (free and commercial) which can be used with BlitzMax, for me the real fun at programming starts with 3D programming.

MiniB3D would be your first station, it's very easy and powerful, but if you want to look for more advanced 3D engines which have also realtime shadows and physics, you could try Leadwerks Engine ( www.leadwerks.com ).

There will be also a 3D Engine with physics and shadows called Flow ( www.flow3d.org ) which works with older hardware, but thus doesn't utilize the newest hardware to their full extend.

I personally think both are needed, as you can't put everything into one engine (high-end + compatibility), or if you did then the whole engine would suffer from useless checks and have lower performance.

jsc(Posted 2008) [#7]