Simple Polygon Swept collsion Detection

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Simple Polygon Swept collsion Detection

Rico(Posted 2008) [#1]
Hi, I am now intending to use a polygonal collision system for my game. I really want the following

1) a rock solid collsion system so that no object can EVER pass though another object or the background, no matter how fast it moves
2) I want to use any polygonal shape for my objects and background. I'd also like curves if possible.
3) I also want objects to bounce off each other, and to move down slopes.
4) Objects don't need to rotate or tip in my game

I have never done anything like this before, but I really want to understand it and do at least this much myself before I look at using a physics engine for future games. I have been reading a bit on Seperating axis theorems for collision detection and response, and I am starting to understand it. I have read the theory on swept collsion - which I really need - but I am not sure how to actually do it in practice.
Also there is a swept system where you solve 2 equations (representing each object to find the exact place they intersect). I read the theory on this but I don't know how to solve the 2 equations in my program! - the actual code I need to write. Please help.
Can anyone give my actual source code (in Blitz language of course) that does what I require. Even something that I have to pay for would be good. But I need source code because I want to learn it myself too :) I would be happy with just a fairly simple polygonal collision system that is 100% rock solid.

Thank you very much - Rico

tonyg(Posted 2008) [#2]
I would start here

z80jim(Posted 2008) [#3]
tony I think you messed up somewhere with that code lol.

for simple rock solid collision in general just have your loop set up in the following order.

movement input
move
check for collision
move just outside of object
draw