how to do some processing at set time intervals

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/how to do some processing at set time intervals

Robo(Posted 2008) [#1]
I would like to know in blitz basic (bearing in mind i am new to this software) if there is a way (with an example, which would be nice) of calling a routine at a pre-determined interval.

In Liberty basic, this is so so easy, you just use

timer 1000, [subroutine]

where 1000 is 1000 milliseconds (or 1 second)

is it simialr in blitz basic ? I really want to use blitz because it seems much more powerful than liberty basic.

Brucey(Posted 2008) [#2]
There's BRL.Timer.

... there's also wx.wxTimer ;-)

Dreamora(Posted 2008) [#3]
real timers and event hooks.
But beside that no. Above feature looks like a scripting feature, not a feature of a binary code compiled language.

tonyg(Posted 2008) [#4]
SuperStrict
Const TICK_EVENT:Int=69
Function test_function:Object( id:Int,data:Object,context:Object )
	Local ev:TEvent=TEvent(data)

Select ev.id
            Case TICK_EVENT
               Print "Hello World!"
      End Select

End Function
Local MY_EVENT:TEvent=CreateEvent(TICK_EVENT)
Local myTimer:TTImer = CreateTimer(1,MY_EVENT)
'Add our hook to the system
AddHook EmitEventHook,test_function
While EventID() <> EVENT_KEYDOWN
	PollEvent
EndWhile

although BRL have said CreateEvent should really be internal use only.
Not too friendly but does the job... I think.

GfK(Posted 2008) [#5]
Or a more noob-coder-friendly way:
Local myTimer:TTimer = CreateTimer(1)

While (Not KeyDown(KEY_ESCAPE)) And (Not AppTerminate())
	If myTimer.Ticks()
		Print "Timer ticked at " + MilliSecs() + " ms!"
		myTimer._Ticks = 0'reset timer tick counter
	EndIf
	Delay 1
Wend

Beaker(Posted 2008) [#6]
[Oops: doesn't seem to work anymore.]
Or try this: Interval system

Dreamora(Posted 2008) [#7]
they are all together as useless as they look like due to the restriction on the amount of timers BM will allow you.