Invisable Collisions

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Invisable Collisions

Trader3564(Posted 2008) [#1]
I could start an F.A.Q. maybe? no? :-P

Thanks again for the help that was given to my latest posts. I really make some progress altough im still learning the details about various tricks and stuff in BlitzMax. Ill post some when i get to something working, as in, useable.

My next problem i in the progress of trying to build an RPG in BlitzMax is, how i preform collision checks without actualy rendering the image or object on the screen. I have done my homework and noticed there is 32 layers. However, i really lost it when i was trying to find a way to draw on these, and to have it not display anything.... i feel like its a small thing im missing out. So... if anyone knows. please tell me. (oh, and is it possible to toggle like, from visable to non visable?)
I know there is a work arround of setting alpha's to 0% but i didn't hope to be using that solution.

Dreamora(Posted 2008) [#2]
Drawing an image has nothing to do with collision nor does it actually affect it at all.

CollideImage and CollideRect are the only 2 commands affecting layer 0 to 31. 32 is for ImageCollide (2) which is the "old way" how blitz3d / blitzplus did it. But it is only suitable for very few cases if you have more complex scenarios, the usage of layers is much more performant.

Schragnasher(Posted 2008) [#3]
the layers really don't "exist" they are simply a way to order your collisions. so if you want 2 balls to collide with eachotehr, but what 2 other balls to collide with themselves but NOT the other 2, then you put each pairing on differnt layers.

Trader3564(Posted 2008) [#4]
hmm, i dont know how its possible but i have missed out on the example that was included in the docs. I now understand it. lol. thanks all! it works.
*makes progress*

Trader3564(Posted 2008) [#5]