Mac: Why can't data be found when it's in a .dmg?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Mac: Why can't data be found when it's in a .dmg?

Grey Alien(Posted 2007) [#1]
Hiya. I recently altered my AOTMG game demo so that I've put all the data in the app folder (specifically in Contents/Resources). This means that I can distribute a .dmg with what appears to be a single file in it that users can drag onto their Macs and run. This works fine.

However, if you click the game INSIDE the compressed dmg it does not run because it can't find the data properly (one of my own error messages says it can't load the bitmap at AOTMG.app/Contents/Resources/Data/PortalLogo.jpg) This is weird. I'm not a Mac expert (at all) so does anyone know why it runs on the desktop but not in the DMG. Is it something to do with the DMG being compressed or just tat apps in a dmg can't query their own path? Or maybe I'm doing something wrtong with my code. Thanks!

Test app here:

Intel Mac Only: http://www.greyaliengames.com/aotmg/AOTMG045D.dmg (5Mb ish)

You'll notice that the test app has some other improvements: All dynamic data is written to Users/Shared and also the mouse cursor now moves smoothly in and out of the window in windowed mode. This is compiled with BMax 1.28 so the full-screen/windowed mode changing no longer corrupts the graphics. Also it has a proper Mac icon. It's basically got all the techie stuff I want in a professional Mac game now although I still want to get a minimise icon in windowed mode and work out how to set the desktop wallpaper.

unlikely(Posted 2007) [#2]
I'm not sure exactly what the problem is, as I am able to run the game from the mounted disk image (.dmg) straight away without "copying" to my hard drive.

JazzieB(Posted 2007) [#3]
I've just tested it and it works just fine! I downloaded the file, double-clicked the file to mount it and ran it from the mounted disk. Worked without any problems.

Not really sure what to suggest.

Grey Alien(Posted 2007) [#4]