How to make this OOP?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/How to make this OOP?

Glenn Dodd(Posted 2007) [#1]
Hello,
This section of code opens a text file and examines it, byte by byte, for preconceived values.
It works. I have no issues with how it works. There are more checks to be done on the rest of the contents of the file but they don't matter for todays question.

This is all Procedural Programming (from what i understand).
Can you give me some tips on how i should change it to be more OOP?

Files will always be of varying length/size and only the first part will be static (matching byte by byte).

I am happy with responses saying "hey it works, you don't need to change it" but since i am still learning i would like to know the different styles.

Regards
Glenn

Winni(Posted 2007) [#2]
Going OOP not always makes things easier and it also does not always make as much sense as the OOP fans claim.

-- The -- advantage of OOP, in my (sometimes not so) humble opinion, is encapsulation.

In your case, this means that you basically put the whole thing in an own class and instead of declaring all variables as globals, you make them private. You can pass the name of the file you want to examine to the constructor of the class and let the method that does the actual work return the result array. This way, all the temporary and worker variables are hidden from the user and the rest of the code --- encapsulation.

CS_TBL(Posted 2007) [#3]
yes yes, "\o/ yay \o/" for encapsulation and datahiding. Globals might look tempting at first sight, but are immensely evil in the long rung when an app keeps expanding and expanding and you run out of sense making namespace.

Winni(Posted 2007) [#4]
While we're at it, Wil Shipley (Delicious Monsters) recently wrote some interesting things about OOP in his blog:

http://wilshipley.com/blog/2007/05/pimp-my-code-part-14-be-inflexible.html

Gabriel(Posted 2007) [#5]