Fix Your Timestep!

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Fix Your Timestep!

tonyg(Posted 2007) [#1]
I have been trying to convert this article to Bmax because I have never used Fixed Logic timing before.
Unfortunately, I'm finding some of the article incoherent so might be missing something. My code doesn't run very smoothly.
First, here's what I understand the example code to be doing with my own comments

float t = 0.0f;    * Guess this is gametime but don't quite know what it's used for.
    const float dt = 0.01f; * Timestep in seconds? 

float currentTime = 0.0f; * OK.
    float accumulator = 0.0f; * OK.

State previous; * Guess in Bmax you have to keep the old positions.
    State current; * and this is the new position.

while (!quit)
    {
         float newTime = time();  *Guess time() is millisecs()
         float deltaTime = newTime - currentTime; * OK with this..
*** Needed some clamp on deltatime here I assume.
         currentTime = newTime; * OK.

accumulator += deltaTime;  * OK

while (accumulator>=dt)
         {
              previousState = currentState;   * old_xpos=new_xpos etc?
              integrate(currentState, t, dt); * no idea 
what this really means but assumed you pass 
your update methods/functions the timestep value. 
Not sure what you use 't' for.
              t += dt;  * Keep a count of 't' but not sure why.
              accumulator -= dt;  * OK.
         }

const float alpha = accumulator / dt;  * OK

State state = currentState*alpha + previousState*(1.0f-alpha);   * OK.

render(state);  *OK
    }

Here is the code I came up with :

Have I missed something?
I realise there are other timing methods available but this is purely to check how fixed rate logic behaves for myself.

Derron(Posted 2007) [#2]
copypaste and crippled a bit from my code (left out some specific things)

UpdateMain uses Game.intDeltaTime to calc movement and so on

'--- Variables for compensated timing
Const dt:Float=1.0/60.0
Global CurrTime:Int=0