3D Engines

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/3D Engines

Moraldi(Posted 2007) [#1]
I don't know if already exists but it would be very useful a complete list of 3D Engines for BlitzMax

Thanks!

assari(Posted 2007) [#2]
May not be complete but try here under game engines
http://www.2dgamecreators.com/blitzmax/resources/

Moraldi(Posted 2007) [#3]
Very helpful because I am new to BlitzMax world
Thanks a lot!

Dreamora(Posted 2007) [#4]
then forget about 3D for the next 2-3 months and learn BM first please. No, in case you have Blitz3D programmed for years, this won't help you, you will need to start at 0.1 instead of 0 in that case.

Moraldi(Posted 2007) [#5]
Thanks Draemora,
But I have a lot of experience in Object Oriented Programming and speaking generally I think a comparison table between BMax and standard C++ where someone can see the differences and similarities among them will help people like me to reduce the period you mentioned to 1 month or better

Picklesworth(Posted 2007) [#6]
I find that staring at official modules helps to give an idea of how programming in BlitzMax should look :)

Dreamora(Posted 2007) [#7]
Thats right. C++ or even better C# experience (as BM is managed so managed references, not long pointer hick hack) will help you quite a little when learning BM.

Don't think there is a comparision table as it would be a little desturbing to see that most stuff in detail works different than C / C++. (you can't use pointer + x to iterate through arrays as they are true objects for example and things like that)

But to give some you some general informations to compare:

Numerics in BM are by value. They are no objects. If you need to change them, you can declare them as variable:int VAR in the function header.

Everything else beside numerics (including array and string) are objects. They are always managed reference and given to functions by reference.