How to incbin a font and use it? + Copyright issue

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/How to incbin a font and use it? + Copyright issue

Grey Alien(Posted 2006) [#1]
Hi I'm a bit of a noob iwth incbin and how to use stuff. (maybe I should have posted this in beginners). But how do I incbin a font and then use it with LoadImageFont please?

Also an interesting idea occured the other day. Normally I download free fonts (for commercial use) only - I check the docs very carefully. This means that I can distribute the font file with my game instead of having to make it into a bitmap font (which is allowed for copyrighted fonts, because only the font "code", the ttf, is copyrighted, not the actual image).

OK So if I inc. bin a font which is not free for commercial use, the code is no longer available to the public (I'm not distributing the file) because it's embedded in my exe and would have to be hacked out to use. Do you think this is a legal loophole meaning that you don't have to make a bitmap font? OR is the issue that you are still using the font "code" in your code (rather than one of distribution)? But then if you use a program to make a bitmap font, you are using the font "code" too...

Fry Crayola(Posted 2006) [#2]
As far as I know, the deal is that you can't distribute the font code - including as an inc bin. You can use it all you like, and make bitmap fonts.

I'd love to know where to find some decent free fonts that might be used "regularly" (like a mimic of Tahoma) rather than special fonts of little use.

GfK(Posted 2006) [#3]
I don't think I can put it any clearer than to read the recent threads about mmEngine3D. Point being, indirectly using someone else's work is morally wrong at best, illegal at worst. Either way it gets people's backs up.