help me

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/help me

airborne(Posted 2006) [#1]
hey, i'm new to the world of programming. I'm really
trying to get the hang of it but written tutorials don't help me too much. could someone gimme a hand? I'm trying to write a title screen right now but i can't even get the screen to transition from one intro page to another... please help tnx

SpaceAce(Posted 2006) [#2]
Go here: http://www.2dgamecreators.com/

The tutorials on that site are better than everything in the official documentation combined.

SpaceAce

CS_TBL(Posted 2006) [#3]
Additionally: don't fall into the trap of trying to do a (big) game first.. a game is hard and requires all kinda skills. Start easy, build-up slowly.

Who was John Galt?(Posted 2006) [#4]
airborne-
forget about even trying to write something that's your own for now. You need to learn a bit of language. The best way to learn really is to find a simple bit of code, study the instructions and play with it.

Boulderdash(Posted 2006) [#5]
got a sample of the code in question that you can post here?

I personally find other peoples code harder to understand than stuff I write myself.

airborne(Posted 2006) [#6]
I have been messing around with codes in the tutorials. I tried to start out with something simple for ex. "opening credits/title screen" my major problem is i'm just trying to make the program transition. For example I'll write an opening page that contains one sentance. From there I cant get the page/and/or the sentance to fade to transition to a new page/and/or sentence. (yes, for some reason i'm have trouble remembering how to spell the word sentance) plz bear with me. for example:

music composer: blah blah billy bob

------unknown transition----------

special effects designer: blah blah billy rodney....

airborne(Posted 2006) [#7]