Appropriate Data Structure for a TreeView?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Appropriate Data Structure for a TreeView?

Gabriel(Posted 2006) [#1]
What would be the appropriate data structure in which to store the contents of a TreeView?

I'm thinking of a TMap with the key being composed of each "branch" of the tree, delimited with another character of some kind.

But I've never used TreeViews before, and this is one of the more complex data structures I've dealt with in general. So I'd appreciate opinions from more experienced programmers on the best way to store this.

H&K(Posted 2006) [#2]
To be honest, apart from tree structures, I dont see the point of Tmap. Obviously my lack of experiance showing ;)
So I wont comment further, and will let the experts give a real answer.

(However knowing this site, you will probably get two or three contraditory answers)

Gabriel(Posted 2006) [#3]
(However knowing this site, you will probably get two or three contraditory answers)

Heh, for sure. And at least one person telling me that my entire methodology is wrong if I even use a TreeView.

I haven't used TMaps much before. Just for things where I need quick random access, but an array isn't suitable ( something where the number of elements goes up and down a lot. )

Kinda seemed like they would suit a treeview, but like I say, this is new ground for me.

H&K(Posted 2006) [#4]
And at least one person telling me that my entire methodology is wrong if I even use a TreeView.

And at least one person telling you that you could have used it before Mark changed it. But now it breaks some IEE standard laid down in 1972, and you need to roll back to Bmax 1.16 (and you should use a different version of the assembler)

Dreamora(Posted 2006) [#5]
Gabrial: The appropriate structure would be an own tree structure which saves all childs as linked list.

A TMap or binary tree is useless for a treeview as each node can have more than 2 children ...

Gabriel(Posted 2006) [#6]